The Hybrid Method: Preface

fullsizeoutput_4dOn December 31st I wrote the end on a novel I have been working on for the last two years. I learned so much over the course of that book that the quality of writing at the beginning and the end are on opposite ends of the spectrum. As much as I would love to revise that novel, it has been two years, and the story has begun to feel stale. To avoid hating the book and characters I decided to start a new project, dubbed Runaway, one that has been percolating for some time.

I decided to blog about my process, since I don’t follow a strict outline or an exclusively discovery method (Also known as plotting/pantsing, cook/chef, architect/gardener, you get the idea.) My method is what, in my circle of writing friends, we have affectionately dubbed the Hybrid method, or to me it’s that thing I do that helps keep the story fresh/exciting but on track.

One of my goals with this series is to help other writers that may be struggling to find their method see how I pulled advice from other writers and books then changed it to suit my needs. It is also an attempt to define my method for myself, as this is the first time I will be consistently and consciously applying this technique to my draft from the beginning.

I hope you enjoy this series and the daily short stories from writing prompts that I’ll be putting up starting February 1st.

 

Leave a Reply

