Winter Writing Blues – Combating S.A.D.

park-1562865_1280
Photo by zscdesign on Pixabay

It’s that time of year again. Winter. Now, don’t get me wrong, I love a lot of things associated with winter, but the thing I’m here to talk about is the thing I can’t stand. It’s the bleak, miserable, painful, seasonal depression that accompanies the loss of light that arrives with Winter.

Every year my writing slows to a crawl because of this awful depression. It feels like fighting a terrible inner battle just to get a few sentences out and I’m exhausted after only a few minutes. I hate it because there is so much in my head, but it all just slips away beneath that curtain of blackness.

My battle plan this year is simple:
I swear to myself that I will write 15 minutes a day.

That’s it, just 15 minutes. In that 15 minutes I might write 5, or I might write 100 words, and that’s okay. Every word is a victory and its own reward. I’ll add them all to my monthly calendar under Words Conquered and fight back, word by precious word.

To anyone out there fighting through this, you can do it! Fight for the words, they’re yours, and no darkness born of a tilted axis should steal them from you!

 

Do any of you deal with season depression affecting your writing? How do you confront and combat the darkness? I would love to hear your thoughts and experiences.

Leave a Reply

