Advice from the Seeds 4 Life blog: Leaving the Harbor

A Ship is Safe...
Flickr photo shared by Mizrak under CCL

“A Ship is Safe in harbor, but that is not what a ship was built for.” — William H. Shedd

Thus begins the blog post I felt it necessary to share with all of you. This post is beautiful in its simple truth. So many of us, myself included, fall into easy daily routines that are comfortable and safe. We do not challenge ourselves to step into the unknown and therefore do not fulfill our purpose or grow as individuals.

I took a, from the outside, very large step into the unknown when I moved to Norway from the USA. That change has prompted unforeseen and amazing growth in me as a person and as a writer. I have experienced new things and gained much from sailing outside of my harbor.

A smaller scale step but one that felt more significant to me was very recent. I decided to contact a group of medieval/viking re-enactors in the Oslo area. I asked if I could come and observe their practices to learn about techniques and tactics that would have been utilized by warriors in the era ofย my novels. I was incredibly nervous to reach out to them. It took the father in the family I work for sending me upstairs with a 5 minute timer to actually write the email and send it. The response was “we love new people,” of course you are welcome.

I was ecstatic.

That step has catapulted me into several new and amazing friendships with remarkable people who “get” my fascination with the medieval/viking/renaissance eras. They not only get it but welcome and enjoy it with me. I have since spent many hours sharing and gathering new knowledge with and from the remarkable members of this group.

I departed my harbor and I highly recommend that everyone try it. Push those boundaries and leave the harbor. You weren’t built to play it safe.

Below is the blog post that I think you should read and consider. If nothing else it will make you consider what you can do to leave that harbor and set sail toward new opportunities, discoveries and horizons.
A Ship is Safe in the Harbor…

When have you stepped out of your harbor? How did it feel?

May the Words be with you!
Lady Earlene

2 thoughts on “Advice from the Seeds 4 Life blog: Leaving the Harbor

  1. Love the post. Thanks

    sooo…. this means I can finish the quilts and they will be wonderful????? hmmmmmm ๐Ÿ™‚

    Like

    1. You’re welcome!
      The only limit is your imagination and your perception of your abilities. If you think you can finish the quilts and make them wonderful you can. It might mean tearing out seams a few times, just like I do with sentences, but after a bit of work, you see improvement and that’s most important.

      I’m so glad you enjoyed the post!

      May the words (or in your case, stitches!) be with you!
      Kirstie Earlene

      Like

Leave a Reply

